Fresh Marinara Sauce – so easy!!

This recipe is adapted from Jason Wrobel, chef and star of “How to Live to 100” on the Cooking Channel. (http://www.cookingchanneltv.com/how-to-live-to-100/video/index.html)

It’s so easy – you just plop everything in a food processor and you’re done!

  • 3 – 4 Roma (or any) tomatoes, chopped
  • 2-3 crushed garlic
  • 1/2 onion (I use a whole small), chopped
  • 2 cups soaked sundried tomatoes (reserve the soaking water for blending later) (I also have skipped the soaking step and it was fine)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • handful fresh basil
  • 1 Tbsp Oregano
  • 1 Tbsp lemon
  • S & P to taste

Optional additions (I add them all)

  • 1 carrot
  • 1-2 kale leaves
  • mushrooms

Blend all ingredients in a food processor, adding the reserved soaking water until you get the consistency you want (It will be slightly chunky).

You could just plop it fresh onto some warm quinoa or pasta and call it a meal.  The first time I made it the raw garlic was too intense so I simmered it for a while to blend the flavors.  The next time I made it, I only heated it slightly because it was SO delicious fresh from the processor.

I threw in some kidney beans with my pasta just to add some more fiber and protein to round the meal out.

Enjoy!!

 

[Kim G]

 

Leave a Reply

